ShamkirChess2019: World's leading Chess Players to assemble Shamkir

The traditional ShamkirChess 2019 Super Tournament to be held in the memorial of the prominent Azerbaijani grandmaster, the European Champion, late Vugar Hashimov. On this occasion, ten leading grandmasters on FIDE rating will compete in the category 22nd tournament to the honor of Vugar Hashimov, sponsored by the State Oil Company of the Azerbaijan Republic, The Ministry of the Youth and Sports of the Azerbaijan Republic, supported by Synergy Group.

The organization committee has already determined the list of the players. The reigning world champion, the three-time winner of the ShamkirChess Tournament, holding the 1st place on the FIDE rating, Magnus Carlsen (Norway, 2845), Chinese grandmaster Ding Liren (China, 2812), the Netherland Chess leader Anish Giri  (2797, 4th place on FIDE rating), the former world champion Vishvanatan Anand (India, 2779), the Russian grandmaster Aleksandr Grishuk (Russia, 2771), the winner of the World Cup, the participant of the Chess Crown Game, Sergey Kariakin (Russia, 2753), the world champion on the FIDE version, Veselin Topalov (Bulgaria, 2740), Czech David Navara (2739) will participate in the Super Tournament.

Azerbaijan will be represented by the two-time winner of the ShamkirChess Super Tournament, three-time Europe champion, the world champion on the Rapid Chess, being in 5th place on the FIDE rating, Shahriyar   Mammadyarov   (2790),   the   three-time   Europe   champion,   the   bronze winner of the World Championship, Teimur Radjabov (2756).

The   top   rating   favorite   of   the   Super   Tournament   category   22nd   will   be   the Norwegian representative Magnus Carlsen. The reigning World Champion is in the 1st place on the International Chess Federation rating list with 2845 scores.

The   Gala   Opening   Ceremony   of   the   ShamkirChess   2019   Tournament   in   the memorial of Vugar Hashimov will be on March 30th at the Center named after Heydar Aliyev. The Competition consisting of 9 rounds will end up on April 9th.

We should note that the winner of the tournament has been the World Champion, Magnus   Carlsen  (Norway)   in   2014, 2015 and 2018.   The   Azerbaijani   grandmaster, Shahriyar Mammadyarov was in the 1st place in the last two years.

The Press Service of "Shamkir Chess 2019"