Blitz competitions at the international super tournament dedicated to the memory of Vugar Gashimov have already started.

Blitz competitions at the 7th international super tournament dedicated to the memory of prominent Azerbaijani chess player Vugar Gashimov started on December 22.
On the fifth day of the tournament, seven rounds of blitz competitions were held.
Representative of Azerbaijan Shakhriyar Mammadyarov scored the most points. Our chess player, who has five points, increased his reserve to 19 points and moved up to second place in the standings.
Hungarian Richard Rapport and Fabiano Caruana (USA) scored 4.5 points. Azerbaijani athlete Vugar Asadli and Czech David Navara scored 4 points, former world champion, representative from India Viswanathan Anand scored 2.5 points, Russian intellectual Sergey Karjakin scored 2 points,while our chess player Rauf Mammadov scored only 1.5 points.

According to the results of seven rounds of the rapid tournament and blitz competitions, Richard Rapport takes the first place in the standings with 20.5 points. Shakhriyar Mammadyarov is second with 19 points, Fabiano Caruana is third with 18.5 points and Sergey Karjakin is fourth with 18 points. David Navara is in the fifth place with 12 points, Rauf Mammadov is in the sixth place with 10.5 points, Vugar Asadli is in the seventh place with 8 points, and Viswanathan Anand is in the last eighth place with 5.5 points.

Blitz competitions of the 7th round will continue on December 23. The winner of the tournament will be determined based on the final results of rapid and blitz competitions.


The blitz round will be held with a time control of 5 minutes + 3 seconds.

It should be noted that the 7th Vugar Gashimov Memorial will come to an end on December 22. The tournament is organized by the Vugar Gashimov Chess Foundation, supported by the Ministry of Youth and Sports, the Azerbaijan Chess Federation and sponsored by SOCAR. The competition is hosted by Fairmont Baku Hotel.
First Vugar Gashimov Memorial was held in Shamkir in 2014. Current world champion Magnus Carlsen won the tournament four times (2014, 2015, 2018, 2019), while Azerbaijani chess player Shakhriyar Mammadyarov won the tournament twice (2016, 2017).